数字货币的定义

数字货币诞生于2008年,人工创造的加密货币首次进入市场。从那时起,利用数字货币愈趋普及的优势,其他几种数字货币相继出現。在其广义定义中,数字货币是一种替代货币,其功能与其他货币一样,但采用电子货币的形式。数字货币缩写为DIGICCY。数字货币可用于购买实物和服务,因此其使用不能局限于虚拟空间。在虚拟空间之外使用数字货币意味着公众接受使用电子货币并用作交换货物和服务,这对数字货币的普及具有重大影响。

数字货币的市场分析

自2008年成立以来,数字货币市场经历了一次重大上升趋势,预计这种情况将在未来几年继续发展。尽管在途中遇到了一些挑战,但整体市场前景仍然看涨。随着越来越多的人意识到数字货币、数字货币的使用和益处,互联网金融的概念在公众中越来越受欢迎。数字货币的特征使它们成为无国界、匿名、平等、去中心化和公平的货币,并已经获得了大量资金的重要支持。数字货币的崛起呈上升趋势,其中比特币占据领先地位,估值为72亿美元。

根据各种的市场分析,虚拟货币市场资本化呈现爆炸式增长。作为市场引领者,比特币在前几年的表现中经历了全方位增长。在以太坊中也可以看到这一点,它像比特币一样获得许多动力,并破记录般地异常增长。所有其他虚拟货币都反映了这一趋势,其上升趋势表明虚拟货币在全球范围内的增长。

预计未来比特币的变动

其他几项市场指标也正在见证虚拟货币的增长。在一次持续24小时的虚拟货币交易中,其总额一度超越260亿美元,高于美国证券交易所5天内的平均交易总额。所有这些市场指标勾勒了虚拟货币在贸易市场中展现的光明前景。随时间推进,虚拟货币会愈发流行,预计市场会继续增长趋势。

作为一种去中心化的货币,数字货币不需要任何中央权威机构的参与,因此数字货币的普及将最终改变现状。数字货币的框架依靠许多技术特征,这些特征均用以消除对中央权威机构的需要。基于SCRYPT操作的加密算法与分布式时间戳、工作量证明机制和公开密钥相互组合。这些业务在电子商务交易的革命中至关重要,它们是未来金融业环境的指标。货币的使用不仅适用于金融表达,而且还是财富的体现。无论在规模上还是数量上,货币在世界上都发挥着重要作用,因为它定义了人类的财富。因此,货币方面的改革肯定会使更多人发家致富。金融和市场专家表示,未来几十年数字货币的发展和使用将持有大部分财富。

数字货币的通用结构

第一层是底层技术,即区块链。区块链是去中心化的、公开透明的交易记录总账——其数据库由所有的网络节点共享,由矿工更新,由全民监督,但是却没有人真正拥有和控制这个数据库。它就像一张巨大的可交互电子表格,所有人都可以进入和更新,并确认这些转移资金的数字交易是独一无二的。

堆栈的中间那一层是协议——一种基于底层区块链技术之上运行的协议(软件系统),这种协议可以描述资产是怎么在区块链上转移的。

然后,顶层就是货币本身。目前市面流通的数字货币已经有2,400余种,其中比特币是最先出现并且是规模最大的。关键一点在于,对于多种的现代加密数字货币而言,区块链、协议和货币这三个层级是一种通用结构。通常每种币都代表了一种货币及一种协议,另外它可能有自己独立的区块链或者基于比特币的区块链之上运行

当普通的账本数据具有以上三个特征,普通的账本数据就具备了加密数字货币的特征。在区块链技术中,由共识机制和价值流通所构成的价值环境基础就可以形成加密数字货币(确切来说是可以承载价值的分布式共享账本)。当数字的形态通过加密哈希函数、哈希链式结构和非对称密钥加密之后就会初步具备数字资产(货币)的雏形,但是这样的数字资产需要一个流转的网络,并按照一定的共识机制来保证资产的安全性和有效性,进而构筑价值网络。

区块链的定义

由于在互联网上进行各种操作需要大量数据,区块链技术的应用已经普及。从广义定义来说,区块链是集成了多种计算机技术的技术应用,包括共识机制、对等传输、分布式数据存储和加密算法。共识机制的应用允许在区块链系统中的各个节点之间建立信任和获取权利,这些都通过数学算法执行。

因此,区块链技术的发展对各个行业的经营理念产生了影响。新技术使新想法和新流程的发展成为可能,并对各种行业产生影响。区块链技术极大地促进了经济和社会活动。预计区块链技术的持续使用和发展将导致不同的行业现象,旨在使所有行业和所涉及的利益相关者受益。

人们已经将区块链的出现视为信息技术领域的革命性技术之一。该技术可以通过各种网络节点之间同时计算、按照时间顺序排列数据,从而形成按时间顺序、可追踪且不易受干扰的交易记录。

区块链技术的主要价值在于开发一种安全可靠的分布式计算系统。在其实施过程中,区块链技术已经能够实现低成本、低延迟的信息交换。同时,交易处理和数字值的流通也得以实现。区块链技术依赖于其对等网络通信、智能合约、分布式共识协议和密码术的技术应用,以实现其作为大数据技术的高效性能。

区块链技术的特征

透明性

透明性在数字交易中十分重要,它能帮助参与交易活动的各方追踪所执行的活动。通过点对点网络,所有参与者都可以接触到交易数据。每个参与者都通过哈希算法来识别,以确保用户实际识别是受到保护和安全的。验证过程通过记录双方之间的预定交易来增强系统的安全性,但不共享交易中涉及的各方的个人信息。

不可变性

保护系统免受干扰保证了所涉及的各种操作的保密性和安全性。在区块链技术的功能中,数据被分成彼此互连的各种块。区块链每10分钟后自动更新一次以进行自我检查。连续检查使系统与先前存储的信息协调。已检查的信息称为区块,这些区块存在于互连框架中,因此单个区块中的任何更改都会影响所有其他区块。因此,如果不同时修改所有区块以记录这些更改,则无法在单个区块中进行更改。因此,由于始终在进行新的交易,几乎不可能对任何现有区块进行更改。

去中心化系统

区块链技术在功能上是去中心化的,因为它将自己作为整个系统来储存信息。因此,区块链下存储的信息没有集中的位置,它与各种计算机混合在一起。利用网络控制数据是为了反对中央权威机构控制。整个网络在点对点的基础上运作。这样可以公开信息并增强数据调查。在理想情况下,这是区块链技术最具吸引力的特征,网络中的所有参与者都享有相似的优先权,他们共享相同的信息并在相同的共识协议下运行。

区块链技术的发展

2008年3月31日,中本聪(Satoshi Nakamoto)在密码学论坛上发表了一份白皮书,解释了如何在加密货币中避免重复付款,这是当时的一个主要问题。在比特币的创造中使用了相同的概念,这已经深深扎根于区块链技术的发展中。虽然在白皮书中,中本聪没有提到区块链技术,但他将其框架描述为一系列散列的时间戳。然而,在比特币的创建中,这种方法得到了改进,这个概念已经定型:一个互连的块框架,每个区块通过使用哈希摘要以加密方式链接到之前的区块。从这个框架中,区块链被简单地描述为一系列记录,每个记录成分散状态,并与前一个区块相互连接。在白皮书中,中本聪仅将比特币描述为去中心化的点对点支付系统,但区块链技术的使用已超过其使用范围。

第一代:币

2008年金融危机肆行之际,危机造成重大损失,人们便开发比特币来解决危机相关的问题。在比特币的概念化中,中间商被交易者淘汰,从而降低了成本并控制了资金本身。基于这一概念,比特币的创造开创了区块链技术的使用。比特币的分布基于自治系统,该系统是金融经济学和应用数学的完美结合。在运行过程之中,该系统兼任商业银行、中央银行及货币本身。在解决比特币所有权问题上,创造者中本聪应用了非对称性的加密技术。在“币”的概念化中,中本聪使用了UTXO模型,解决了使用区块链过程中的分布问题。该系统的稳定性和安全性主要靠工作量证明机制(Proof Of Work)来维护。为解决重复付款的问题,所有矿工(Miner)需要保持统一的区块链。尽管取得了巨大的成功,但基于过时的算法,比特币的每秒处理速度过慢。对比特币的技术性能进行分析后,预计其会在不久的将来或之后濒临崩溃。比特币是区块链技术的第一个应用,因此十分流行。与比特币相关的交易成本也很高,使用小比特币的人数也越来越少。

通过开发新算法,数字货币中出现了以太坊,这对区块链技术的普及产生了重大影响,因为有更多的数字货币不断创建。比特币作为社会实验的参考已经由以太坊SegWit的激活所证实。

第二代:链

了解比特币只是区块链技术的应用之一,基于各行业中区块链技术的实施,人们可以看到未来的可能性。这种认识使得人们的注意力从该技术的“币”转向“链”。在今天的应用程序中,区块链用于描述分布式数据库。该数据库的主要特征之一是能够沿时间轴记录合同和数据,并且只有在修改和删除不可用时才能利用读取和写入功能。

在区块链技术的探索中,比特股(Bitshares)是最早的参与者之一,但以太坊对该技术的应用彻底改变了这一概念。在区块链技术的应用中,以太坊不仅具有比特币的优势,而且还引入了旨在使虚拟货币有效的各种创新。区块链的以太坊应用提供了一个智能合约平台。

以太坊虚拟机(EVM)是以太坊中最迷人、最复杂的部分,通常认为它是准图灵完备的。图灵完备性可用于描述数据操作规则系统,该系统以图灵机的创建者阿兰·图灵(Alan Turing)命名。图灵完备系统能够执行任何可能的计算机程序或计算。简单来说,图灵完备机经过数学证明可以解决输入其系统的任何问题。以太坊虚拟机的发展涉及众多技术复杂性以及容错成本。尽管技术发展和复杂性,专家认为以太坊虚拟机远不完美,并且有许多地方需要优化。 区块链和智能合约的探索还有很长的路要走。

下一代:网络

自数字货币和区块链技术发展以来,焦点主要从“币”转向“链”。自它们面世八年以来,便完成这一转变。基于区块链在各种应用中提供的可能性,人们想知道下一阶段涉及的内容。

三十年前,互联网的发展为各种行业和个人带来了无数机会,因为它从方方面面使世界发生了翻天覆地的变化。互联网的探索和使用广无止境,物联网(Internet of Things)的概念在几年前诞生,被人们认定为下一代网络。技术公司花费了大量时间和资金来研究物联网的发展及其实现,但到目前为止,进展甚微。直到引入区块链技术,物联网才取得一些进展。 物联网面临的问题是通过使用过去的技术实现自动化,这一技术已经由比特币经过验证的分布式自治公司(Distributed Autonomous Corporation)解决。分布式自治公司的使用建立了一个自动化系统,可以在物联网的开发中重复使用,从而解决其初始问题。人们认为区块链是下一个进化网络,且可能无需区块链之间的分离化。

Definition of a Digital Currency

The birth of digital currency was realized in 2008 with the first ever creation of a crypto currency entering the market. Since then, several other digital currencies have been created as they take advantage of the rise of digital currency popularity. In its broad definition, digital currency is an alternate currency that functions like other currencies but takes the form of electronic money. Digital currency is abbreviated as DIGICCY. The use of digital currency cannot be limited to virtual space as it is being used in the purchase of real goods and services. The use of digital currency outside the virtual space signifies the acceptance of the public in the use and exchange of the electronic money for goods and service which has had a significant impact on the popularity of digital currency.

Market Analysis of Digital Currency

The digital currency market has experienced a major upward trend since its inception in 2008 and this is expected to continue in the coming years. Though, there have been some challenges experienced on the way, the overall market outlook is that of bullish. The concept of internet finance is gaining popularity among the public as more people become aware of the digital currencies, their use and their benefits. The characteristics of digital currency that makes them borderless, anonymous, fair, decentralized and equitable currency has led to significant support which has been enabled by the large amount of funds. The rise of digital currencies has been on an upward trend in which Bitcoin is leading with an estimated value of $7.2 billion.

The analysis of the virtual currency market capitalization indicates an explosive growth according to the various sources that track the market. The market leader Bitcoin, has experienced extensive growth from the previous years of its performance. This is also witnessed in Ethereum that is gaining as much momentum like Bitcoin and recording anomalous growth. The trend is replicated in all other virtual currencies whose upward trend is an indication of the growth of virtual currency on a global scale.

Several other market indicators are experiencing the growth of virtual currencies. In a 24-hr period of virtual currencies trading, the volume once surpassed $26 billion which was higher than what was achieved in a 5-day average trading volume of US stock exchange. All these market indicators predict a bright future for the performance of virtual currencies in the trading market. The upward trend in the market is expected to continue as the popularity of virtual currencies increase with time.

Being a decentralized currency, digital currency does not require any involvement of central authority, thus the popularity of the digital currency will ultimately change the status quo. The framework of the currency is based on a number of technical features that have been incorporated to eliminate the need of central authority. The use of encrypted algorithms which are based on SCRYPT operations are combined with a distributed timestamp along with PoW and public key. These operations are crucial in the revolution of e-commerce transactions and they are the indicators of the future financial industry environment. The use of currency is not only applicable in the finance expression but is also used in the embodiment of wealth. Currency plays a significant role in the world whether in size or quantity as it defines the wealth of mankind. Therefore, a reform in currency will definitely create a higher proportion of people with wealth. Financial and market experts have indicated the development and adoption of the digital currency in the next couple of decades to a level where it will be holding a large portion of the wealth.

The Bitcoin expected movement in future

Several other market indicators are experiencing the growth of virtual currencies. In a 24-hr period of virtual currencies trading, the volume once surpassed US$26 billion which was higher than what was achieved in a 5-day average trading volume of US stock exchange. All these market indicators predict a bright future for the performance of virtual currencies in the trading market. The upward trend in the market is expected to continue as the popularity of virtual currencies increase with time.

General structure of digital currency

The first layer is the underlying technology, the blockchain. The blockchain is a decentralized, open and transparent transaction record ledger whose database is shared by all network nodes, updated by miners, and supervised by the whole people, but no one actually owns and controls the database. It's like a huge interactive spreadsheet that everyone can access and update, and confirm that the digital transactions that transfer funds are unique.

The middle layer of the stack is the protocol—a protocol (software system) that runs on top of the underlying blockchain technology, which describes how assets are transferred across the blockchain.

Then, the top layer is the currency itself. At present, there are more than 2,400 digital currencies in circulation, of which bitcoin is the first and largest. The key point is that the three levels of blockchain, protocol, and currency are a common structure for many modern encrypted digital currencies. Usually each currency represents a currency and a protocol, and it may have its own separate blockchain or bitcoin-based blockchain.

When the ordinary book data has the above three characteristics, the ordinary book data has the characteristics of the encrypted digital currency. In the blockchain technology, the value environment foundation formed by the consensus mechanism and value circulation can form an encrypted digital currency (exactly, a distributed shared ledger that can carry value). When the form of the number is encrypted by a cryptographic hash function, a hash chain structure, and an asymmetric key, it will initially have the prototype of digital assets (currency), but such digital assets require a network of flows and follow a certain consensus mechanisms to ensure the security and effectiveness of assets, and then build value networks.

Blockchain Definition

The application of the blockchain technology has gained popularity due to the large amount of data that is required in carrying out various operations over the internet. In its broad definition, blockchain has been identified as a technological application that integrates several computer technologies including consensus mechanism, peer-to-peer transmission, distributed data storage, and encryption algorithm. The application of the consensus mechanism allows building of trust and acquiring rights between the various nodes in the blockchain system which are executed through a mathematical algorithm.

Therefore, the development of blockchain technology has had an impact on various industries in regard to the operating concepts. The new technology has enabled development of new ideas and processes that are having an impact on a variety of industries. Economic and social activities are highly promoted by the blockchain technology. The continued use and development of blockchain technology is expected to cause different industry phenomena which are meant to benefit all industries and the stakeholders involved.

The emergence of blockchain has been identified as one of the revolutionary technologies in the field of information technology. The ability of the technology to arrange the data in a chronological order through the simultaneous accounting between the various network nodes thus forming records of transactions that are chronologically traceable and are not vulnerable to interference.

The principal value of the blockchain technology is the development of a distributed accounting system that is secure and reliable. In its implementation, blockchain technology has been able to achieve low-cost, low-latency of information exchange and through this transaction processing and circulation of digital values is realized. Blockchain technology relies on its technological applications of peer-peer network communication, smart contracts, distributed consensus protocols and cryptography to achieve its efficient performance as a big data technology.

Features of blockchain technology

Transparency

The transparency aspect is of importance in digital transactions as it helps the involved parties in the transaction to follow the activity performed. The data for the transaction is made available to all the involved participants through the use of the peer to peer network. Each participant is identified by a hash algorithm which ensures that the users actual identify is protected and secure. The verification process enhances the security of the system by recording the scheduled transactions between the parties but does not share the personal information of the parties involved in the transaction.

Unchangeable

Protecting a system from interferences guarantees security and safety of the various operations involved. In the functioning of the blockchain technology, the data is divided into various blocks that are interconnected with one another. Blockchain does automatic updates after every 10 minutes to check itself. The continuous checking allows the system to reconcile with the previous stored information. The information checked is referred to as a block. The blocks exist in an interconnected framework thus any change in a single block affects all other blocks. Therefore, a change cannot be implemented in a single block without simultaneously modifying all the blocks at the same instance, to record the changes. Therefore, based on the fact that there are always new transactions made, it becomes almost impossible to make changes to any of the existing blocks.

Decentralized System

Blockchain technology is decentralized in its functioning as it stores the information in it as a unit of the whole system. Therefore, the information stored under blockchain does not have a centralized location as it gets shared with various computers. The network controls the data as opposed to a central authority. The whole network functions under the principle of peer to peer basis. This allows the information to be made public and enhances data investigation. This is ideally the most attractive feature of the blockchain technology as all the participants in the network are given similar priority as they share the same information and operate under the same consensus protocol.

The development of Blockchain technology

On October 31, 2008 a white paper was published in a cryptography forum by Satoshi Nakamoto explaining how double-spending could be avoided in crypto currency which was by then a major problem. The same concept was used in the creation of bitcoin which is deeply based on the development of blockchain technology. Though in the whitepaper, Nakamoto did not mention blockchain technology, but he described its framework as that of a chain of hashed timestamps. This approach was however refined in the creation of Bitcoin as the concept was laid out: an interconnected framework of blocks, each linked cryptographically to the previous by the use of hash digest. From this framework, blockchain was simply described as a sequence of records, each hashed and interconnected to the previous block. In the white paper, Nakamoto only described Bitcoin as a decentralized peer to peer payment system, but the use of blockchain technology has surpassed the exceeded scope of its usage.

First generation: coin

In the year 2008 when the financial crisis was spreading, bitcoin was being developed to deal with problems such as the crisis which was being experienced causing significant loss. In the conceptualization of bitcoin, middlemen were eliminated by the exchangers thus reducing the costs as well have control of funds themselves. Based on this concept, bitcoin was created being the first to apply the blockchain technology. The distribution of bitcoin is based on autonomous system which uses a perfect combination of financial economics and applied mathematics. In its functioning, the system works as a commercial bank, central bank, as well as the currency itself. In solving the problem of ownership in Bitcoin, the creator Satoshi Nakamoto applied the asymmetric cryptography. In the conceptualization of a ‘coin’, Nakamoto used the UTXO model while solving the distribution problem by the use of the blockchain technology. The stability and security of the system is maintained by the use of Proof of Work (PoW). In the solving of the double-spending problem, all miners have to maintain a unified blockchain. Despite its significant success, the processing rate per second of bitcoin is too slow based on the outdated algorithm. Performing an analysis on the technical performance of bitcoin, it is expected to collapse in either a near future or later. The popularity of bitcoin has been based on it being the first application of blockchain technology. The transaction costs associated with bitcoin are also high and the number of people using petty bitcoins is getting lower.

The entrance of Ethereum in the digital currency by developing new algorithms, has had a significant impact on the popularity of blockchain technology as more digital currencies continue to be created. The reference of Bitcoin as a social experiment has been confirmed by the activation of Ethereum SegWit.

Second generation: Chain

By understanding that bitcoin is only one of the applications of the blockchain technology, one gets to see the possibility of the future based on the implementation of blockchain technology in various industries. This realization led the focus to shift from the ‘coin5 to the ‘chain5 aspect of the technology. In its application today, blockchain is used to describe a distributed database. One of the primary features of this database is the ability of contracts and data to be recorded along the time axis, and only the functions of reading and writing are available while modification and deletion are made unavailable.

In the exploration of the technology of blockchain, Bitshares was among the first players but Ethereum’s application of the technology revolutionized the concept. In its application of the blockchain technology, Ethereum did not only possess the benefits of bitcoins but also introduced a variety of innovations which were aimed to make the virtual currency effective. The Ethereum application of blockchain presents a smart contract platform.

The Ethereum Virtual Machine (EVM) is the most fascinating and complex part of the Ethereum and it is regarded as being quasi-Turing complete. The Turing completeness is used to describe a system of data manipulation rules, which are named after the creator of the Turing machine, Alan Turing. A Turing complete system is known to be capable of performing any possible computer program or calculation. In simple terms, a Turing complete machine is mathematically proven to solve any problem fed into its system. The development of EVM involved numerous technical complexities along with fault-tolerant costs. Despite the technical development and complexities, experts believe that EVM is far from achieving perfection and there are many places that need to be optimized. The explorations of blockchain and smart contracts have a long way to go.

Next generation: Network

Since the development of digital currency and blockchain technology, focus has mainly shifted from the ‘coin’ to the ‘chain’. This has been able to be accomplished within the eight years of their existence. Based on the possibilities that blockchain offers on a variety of applications, one wonders what the next phase involves.

The development of internet 30 years ago opened up numerous opportunities for a variety of industries and individuals as it revolutionized the world in various aspects. The exploration and the usage of the internet was extensive and the idea of Internet of Things (IoT) was born several years ago being identified as the next network. Technological corporations have spent significant time and funds researching on the development of IoT and how it can be achieved, but up to today only a slight progress has been achieved. This was until the blockchain technology got introduced which have led to some progress in IoT. The problem that faced IoT was the realization of automation by the use of past technology, which was solved by Bitcoin a proven Distributed Autonomous Corporation (DAC). The use of DAC establishes an automated system that can be replicated in the development of IoT thus solving its initial problems. The blockchain is believed to be the next evolutionary network, and the separation of the blockchains from each other will no longer be necessary.